Norwegian Cruise Line makes Latitudes upgrades more accessible

Norwegian Cruise Line has announced an overhaul to its Latitudes Rewards loyalty program, introducing lower point thresholds to reach most tier levels, as well as new perks.

Norwegian Cruise Line’s Latitudes Rewards program will become more accessible for passengers, who are automatically enrolled when they book a cruise.

Norwegian Encore

RELATED: Norwegian Cruise Line reveals Prima sister ship Norwegian Viva

RELATED: Royal Caribbean and Norwegian first to cancel due to Omicron

Instead of six tiers, Latitudes Rewards will now have seven, with lower point thresholds: instead of needing 30 and 55 points to reach the second and third tiers, for example, you’ll now only need 20 and 45 points.

To reach platinum, the threshold has dropped from 80 points to 75.

As part of the revamp, the fifth tier of the program, Platinum Plus, has been renamed Sapphire and will now need 150 points, down from 175.

The top tier of the program, Ambassador, remains the same at 700 points.

Norwegian has also added a whole new tier level, Diamond, just below Ambassador, which will require 350 points.

Although the point thresholds have been reduced, Norwegian Cruise Line hasn’t changed most of the key perks previously associated with each of the levels.

RELATED: Norwegian Cruise Line extends deals for Middle East passengers

RELATED: Norwegian Jade to return to Cape Town for 2023 summer season

Discounts at onboard duty free shops that start at the entry-level Bronze tier, and discounts on shore excursions, photo packages and spa treatments that start at the Silver level remain, as does the one-time complimentary seven-night cruise for two upon reaching Ambassador.

Perks that have been removed:

Priority check-in at the pier, regardless of tier level.

Free bottle of sparkling wine (used to be provided for Bronze up)

15-30mins free Internet for Bronze

The various changes have made the entry-level Bronze tier less enticing, but has added perks for higher tiers, which makes sense as Bronze is now earned after just one cruise.

Platinum level members now get a new complimentary wine tasting when sailing, called Wines Around the World, while two new value-adds have been added to the new Diamond tier: access to a complimentary Sail & Sustain Mixology experience and a one-time free cabin upgrade.

Norwegian Cruise Line said that under the revamped program passengers will still get 1 point for every night they spend onboard, with 1 additional point per night when staying in a Concierge-level cabin, full-fare suite (not mini-suites or club balcony suites) or The Haven rooms.

This additional point per night doesn’t apply to stays in suites that result from an upgrade.

Categories: News

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply